Misty (2018)

Profile
Drama: Misty (미스티)
Network: JTBC
Episodes: 16
Release Date: February 2 – March 24, 2018
Runtime: Friday & Saturday 23:00
Language: Korean
Country: South Korea

Plot
A story of the life and loves of a popular anchorwoman – how far will she go to reach the top and the many men who are willing to do anything for her (even in death), and her enemies who are willing to do anything to bring her down.

Main Cast
Kim Nam Joo – Go Hye Ran
Ji Jin Hee – Kang Tae Wook
Jeon Hye Jin – Seo Eun Joo
Im Tae Kyung – Ha Myung Woo
Go Joon – Kevin Lee

Review
After watching the last episode, I know why they called this Misty, but I think “Misery” is more appropriate and probably how I can describe this drama. I would also describe this as Tragic but it doesn’t sound as good as Misery.

What I loved the most (and really the reason I couldn’t stop watching) is hands down the twisted relationship between Go Hye Ran and Kang Tae wook! Their palpable chemistry whenever they’re on screen. The way they look at each other was so full of sexual tension. And most especially, Kang Tae Wook’s angsty eyes were so sexy yet so sad. After 7 years of pain, and all the difficult things they went through to get to each other, I just wanted them to live happy ever after.

Ji Jinhee just went straight to my oppa collection. OMG! I cant believe i’ve been sleeping on him for years!! (Most probably because his dramas weren’t my cup of tea, but now I’m looking forward to his succeeding dramas).

Go Hye Ran is one of those amazing female characters in Kdramaland. She is so powerful and successful. I loved what Han Ji won said to her, “I dont know about respect, but I know Go Hye Ran always win.” She is not the nicest female character, but you will empathize with her in some way, that’s why despite the tv station being scared of her, when she retired, you can see the admiration in everyone’s eyes, and how much they loved her.

Oh I can’t not mention the fashion. Go Hye Ran’s pantsuits and her different shades of lipsticks screams powerful and sexy. Kang Tae Wook’s gorgeous coats and turtlenecks made him more mysterious and protective.

Director Jang! I normally hate all the characters that Lee Gyun Yeong plays but this time he was amazing! One minute, I’m scared he will throw Hye Ran under the bus, but the next minute, he is all bad-ass, defending her and the reputation of journalists. I really wish that media people are like him. Not manipulating the news for their own (and some powerful corporation’s) interests, but also not withholding the truth from the people. Like he said, FACTS. Give the facts, let the people decide / interpret.

The whole murder-Kevin Lee affair at the start got me so hooked with the story. It was short but Go Joon nailed the playboy Kevin Lee. It was fun to think of who killed Kevin, how and why. About halfway, I was already dreading the truth after I was eliminating each suspect from my mind. I was right — but I didn’t want to be right!!! I also hated Kevin Lee’s wife!!! It’s not Hye Ran’s fault she is amazing, but for Eun Joo to keep insisting she killed Kevin without enough evidence was both infuriating (I wanted to scratch her eyes out for hurting Hye Ran) and pathetic (Eun Joo also led a sad life, but she made her own choices, she knew Kevin’s infidelity, she lost her baby through her negligence, she should just move on and forward).

The downside of this drama is the way the writer handled the murder investigation. For one, I disliked the super incompetent Detective Kang. I can’t believe he has worked as a detective for 20 years and arrests people based on bias and circumstantial evidence. Second, the trial was a big mess. Third, the prosecutors were too dumb. I loved it when Taewook’s assistant shouted at Kang to do his job properly. Like, finally, someone told him what all the viewers must be thinking all this time!

There were also some plotholes and other questions that were never fully answered, but it was okay, because in the end it didn’t really matter to me anymore. I just wanted the case to be closed and put everyone out of their misery.

The last 2 episodes lost focus of its original intention. I was disappointed that Hyeran let go of her principles. I already knew this will never have a happy ending and I would have been happy up to the second half of the last episode. Ha Myung Woo’s sacrifice didn’t make sense and was all for nothing because of the last 10 mins. But I understand why the ending was that way. That final scene when Kang Tae Wook said, “Are you happy?” And Hyeran was crying. SO SAD. SO TRAGIC. I couldn’t stop thinking about the ending even days after watching the show.

Rating: 8.5/10 (8 for the story +0.5 for tragic lives of the leads)

One thought on “Misty (2018)

  1. I totally agree with this interpretation. Anyhow it was an accidental murder. Who knows how the lives of the envolved people would have ended. A tremenduos drama.

    Like

Leave a comment